Evans Drain Petition



DATE: October 11, 2023

TIME: 10:30 a.m.

LOCATION: South Haven City Hall

 539 Phoenix Street, South Haven, MI 49090

QUESTIONS: 269-657-8241

INFORMATION: https://www.vanburencountymi.gov/826/Evans-Drain-Petition

A Board of Determination will meet at the above date, time and location to hear all interested persons, receive evidence and determine whether the maintenance, improvement, and extension of the Evans Drain, as set forth in the petition, dated April 13, 2023, is necessary and conducive to the public health, convenience or welfare, and whether said maintenance, improvement and extension is necessary for the protection of the public health in the following municipalities: South Haven City, pursuant to Chapter 8 of Public Act 40 of 1956, as amended.

A presentation will be made to the Board of Determination outlining a brief history of the Drain and Drainage District, and describing the roles, responsibilities and decisions made by the Board of Determination. The presentation is to provide background for landowners and municipalities in the drainage district and to facilitate the dissemination of information and the receipt of testimony of landowners in the Drainage District. The Board of Determination will make decisions at the end of the meeting.

 Proceedings conducted at this public meeting will be subject to the provisions of the Michigan Open Meetings Act. Information regarding this meeting may be obtained from the Van Buren County Drain Commissioner’s Office located at 219 East Paw Paw Street, Suite 301, Paw Paw, MI 49079.

Persons with disabilities needing accommodations for effective participation in the meeting should contact the Drain Commissioner at the number listed above or through the Michigan Relay Center at 7-1-1 (TDD) at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting to request mobility, visual, hearing or other assistance.

 Anyone aggrieved by the decisions of the Board of Determination may seek judicial review pursuant to MCL 280.72(3) and MCL 280.72a.

Joe Parman, Van Buren County Drain Commissioner