Van Buren County Planning Commission

The Van Buren County Planning Commission was reestablished in accordance with the Michigan Planning Enabling Act, PA 33 of 2008, as amended.  The members of the Planning Commission are appointed by the County Board of Commissioners and are charged with the responsibilities set forth in the Act to prepare and adopt a county plan.  The mandated role of the  Van Buren County Planning Commission is to assist local planning commissions and the Van Buren County Board of Commissioners in making lawful and sustainable planning decisions.

Master Plan

For more information about the Van Buren County Planning Commission see the Van Buren County Master Plan 2020 (PDF).

Meeting Dates/Time:

4th Wednesday of each month at 6:30 PM, unless posted otherwise. 
November and December meetings usually are moved if a holiday falls in the same week.

Meeting Location:

The Don Hanson Board of Commissioners Chambers
219 Paw Paw Street ~  Suite 200
Paw Paw, MI  49079 


Van Buren County Planning Commission
219 Paw Paw St., Suite 305
Paw Paw, MI 49079
Phone: (269) 657-8253
Fax: (269) 657-8252
E-mail: [email protected]

Commission Members:

Appointed by:  Van Buren County Board of Commissioners
Term:  3 years

NamePositionTerm Expiration
Jan Petersen
ChairTerm Expires: 3/31/2023
Scott Cedarquist
Vice ChairTerm Expires: 4/1/2025
Tony HemenwayMemberTerm Expires: 4/1/2024
Barbara RoseMember
Term Expires: 3/31/2023
Pam StermerMember
Term Expires: 4/1/2024
Celinda GilmoreMember
Term Expires: 4/1/2025
Ray MartinMember
Term Expires: 4/1/2025
Tom MotyckaMember
Term Expires: 4/1/2025
Will PugsleyMember
Term Expires: 4/1/2025
Alyssa HosbeinMember
Term Expires: 4/1/2026
Kurt DorohVan Buren County CommissionerBoard Representative
VACANTStaff Secretary


Michigan Laws Relating to Planning - Act 33 of 2008
American Planning Association - Michigan Chapter

VBC Planning Commission Meeting Minutes