Board of Commissioners


L to R ~ Back Row: Commissioner Doroh, Commissioner Hanson, Commissioner Peat
Front: Commissioner Chappell, Commissioner Schincariol, Commissioner Godfrey, Commissioner Patterson-Gladney
(photo taken by S & L Photographic Expressions)

The Board of Commissioners are an elected legislative body of the County. There are seven (7) Commissioners elected from each of the County's districts. Following the decennial census, an apportionment commission meets and reapportions the County into districts of approximately the same population size.

Commissioner District Map (PDF)

Board Meetings

The Board of Commissioners meet twice per month to take action on agenda items. Their primary job is to adopt an annual budget, policies, and ordinances to govern the County and its activities.

On March 8, 2022, the Board of Commissioners (BOC) approved a new meeting structure and schedule.  Please see the 2022 Board & Committee Meeting Schedule (PDF) and Agenda Item Flow Chart (PDF)  

 To summarize the changes that began on 4/12:

  • Sub-Committee meetings have been eliminated.  
  • Committee of the Whole (COW) meetings will start at 1:00 p.m., the Board of Commissioners (BOC) meetings will start immediately after the COW meeting.
  • All agenda items must start at Committee of the Whole (COW) unless it is an emergency / expedited request scenario.  Once approved at COW, it will be placed on the BOC agenda two weeks later for final approval.
  • Emergency / Expedited items will be placed directly on the BOC agenda.
  • Board meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of each month
  • The deadline to submit items for a board meeting is 12:00 p.m. on the Tuesday that is one week before the next board meeting.

The public may attend Board Meetings by any of the following ways:

  • Via Zoom, the meeting ID number is 891 2357 7829, and is also listed on the top of the agendas.  See the Agendas & Minutes page.
  • Via YouTube Live Stream
  • In Person:
    Board of Commissioners Chambers
    219 E. Paw Paw Street - Second Floor
    Paw Paw, MI  49079

Board of Commissioners Activity Reports