911 Advisory Board

Under P.A. 32, the Board of Commissioners have adopted a 911 Service Plan and have delegated the management and operations of 911 to the County Sheriff.  The 911 Service Plan established a 911  Board and within the Van Buren County plan, the 911 Board is advisory in nature and provides advice to the County Board, the Sheriff, and the 911 Director regarding the operation of Central Dispatch as well as the implementation of the 911 Final Service Plan and other 911 services for Van Buren County.   

The 911 Advisory Board meets quarterly, generally the 2nd Wednesday of January, April, July, and October in the Board of Commissioner’s chambers, 219 E. Paw Paw Street, Second Floor, Paw Paw, MI  49079.

2022 Meeting Schedule

  • January 12, 2022 - 1:30 PM
  • April 13, 2022 - 1:00 PM
  • July 13, 2022 - 1:00 PM
  • October 12, 2022 - 1:00 PM

Van Buren County 911 Advisory Board Members

Mike Chappell (Chair)Van Buren County Board of Commissioners (M)
Dennis Reynolds (Vice-Chair)Emergency Medical Services (M)
Sheriff Dan AbbottVan Buren County Sheriff Office (M)
Chief Pat WioskowskiVan Buren County Fire Chiefs Assoc. (M)
Randy PeatVan Buren County Board of Commissioners (M)
Lt. Rusty ErnestesMichigan State Police (M)
Dpty. Ray Hochsprung
Van Buren County Emergency Mgt. Coordinator (D)
Ross SteinMichigan Township Association of VBCO (D-A)
Chief Natalie ThompsonVan Buren County Police Chief’s Association (M)
Mike TothGeneral Public (D-A)
OpenVillage / City (D-A)

(M) = Mandatory member
(D) = Discretionary member per Board of Commissioners
(A) = Appointed member by Board of Commissioners

For more information about Van Buren County 911 see the Central Dispatch page

911 Advisory Board Plan and By-Laws