Local Emergency Planning Committee

Local Emergency Planning CommitteeMeetings

  • 8:30 am
  • Van Buren County Board of Commissioners Meeting Room
  • August 16 2023 CANCELLED


The Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) of 1986, also known as Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA), was enacted by Congress to help local communities prepare for and respond to chemical emergencies. EPCRA requires facilities to report chemical storage and release information and instructs communities to develop emergency response plans. Each state governor must appoint a State Emergency Response Commission (SERC).

The SERCs are to design and appoint emergency planning districts and Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPCs), which have a vital role in coordinating information on chemical storage, emergency planning, and chemical spill response. In addition, the Clean Air Act of 1990 under Section 112(r), or the Risk Management Program, was created to prevent chemical accidents at facilities using extremely hazardous substances.